Dogs Everywhere

June at my local library

June at my local library

I’ve quickly learned a few things about having a dog here:
-they’re welcome virtually everywhere. June, my 60 pound lab mix, has already visited the local library, an art show, countless stores, restaurants, beaches, and the airport. I also learned that I can take her on a sherut (a small private bus) as long as she can sit on my lap.

June waiting to greet arrivals at Ben Gurion

June waiting to greet arrivals at Ben Gurion

-Dogs are generally welcome at “social events” which is why I’ve seen them at political rallies, outdoor Shabbat services and shuks (outdoor marketplaces)
-leash and poop “laws” seem to be mere suggestions
-some dogs take themselves out on walks as they please without an owner in sight
-nearly all dogs here are beautiful mutts

Leave a Reply

