Graffiti of Tel Aviv

This says, if I l forget Jerusalem it is because of Tel Aviv. It's a play on the original psalm, If I forget Jerusalem, may my right hand forget its skill.

This says, if I l forget Jerusalem it is because of Tel Aviv. It’s a play on the original psalm, If I forget Jerusalem, may my right hand forget its skill.

There is fantastic graffiti in Tel Aviv. It’s everywhere-from the most upscale areas to the most destitute. There’s murals, images that are repeated all over the city, funny comments, political statements and sometimes non-sense. The city is not visually beautiful (I describe it as a mix between Tijuana and Miami) but the street life is fantastic and full of character(s).  Below are photos of some of my favorite ones.

An alley in the Florentin area of the city (a lot of craftsman have shops here)

An alley in the Florentine area of the city (a lot of craftsmen have shops here)

I love hamsas and esp this store's bright door in Jaffa.

I love hamsas and esp this store’s bright door in Jaffa.

IMG_4079

Love the carrot which I've seen elsewhere (this is in Florentine)

Love the carrot which I’ve seen elsewhere (this is in Florentine area of the city)

From my previous post. It reads, "Excuse me. I just have a question" which pretty much sums up every time an Israeli interrupts you in a store or line.

Also in a previous post. It reads, “Excuse me. I just have a question” which pretty much sums up every time an Israeli interrupts you in a store or line.

I thought this was a profound political statement bc it's in a prominent area written on each side of a walkway in Hebrew and Arabic. Turns out to be non-sense poetry about nothing.

I thought this was a profound political statement bc it’s in a prominent area written on each side of a walkway in Hebrew and Arabic. Turns out to be non-sense poetry about nothing.

"Love" in Hebrew and Arabic

“Love” in Hebrew and Arabic

This is actually made with yarn not paint

This is actually made with yarn not paint (can you see the birds taking flight?)

Front door mezuzah cover?

Front door mezuzah cover?

Versions of these eggplants can be found all over the city.

Versions of these eggplants can be found all over the city.

I've seen this zebra all over the city

I’ve seen this zebra all over the city

IMG_4042

The "monochrome artist" (whom I think is the same as the zebra one) is all over Tel Aviv

The “monochrome artist” (whom I think is the same as the zebra one) is all over Tel Aviv

5 thoughts on “Graffiti of Tel Aviv

  1. I agree with you, the graffiti is fabulous! We went around with Guy Sharett and enjoyed it so much that we took our granddaughters on the tour this year! Marion

    Like

  2. Graffiti is an amazing art form and political statement, and this post shows it’s also a universal language. I love the images you posted, so much beauty in each one. In an age when the art world has become a financial market it’s refreshing to see creativity at play in a way where no one makes money and everyone can benefit from seeing it. Great idea for a post from Israel!

    Like

Leave a Reply

